The cottages are just 2 miles from the attractive market and University town of Lampeter.
The original name of the town was Llanbedr Talybont Steffan, meaning “The Church of Peter at the end of Stephen’s Bridge”. The town grew around a small ecclesiastical settlement, and by the 13th Century was a town of some significance in the Teifi Valley, with a Royal Charter, castle, market and fair. Part of the Manor of Lampeter, it thrived as a commercial and market town serving the needs of the rural community. The population was only 300 in 1728, but with the arrival of the College and the railway, had reached 2000 by the late 19thC. The town was incorporated as a Municipal Borough in the 1880’s, and is now an agricultural, commercial and University centre with a unique history and strong sense of identity. The town is the hub of a wide range of tourist attractions.